In defense of laughter at work

I originally wrote this for Business Style Magazine, when I was the managing editor (prior to launch). I adored my coworker, Clint Prescott and had a great time laughing, and working, with him. Enjoy!

I know a lot of companies block You Tube at work. I know that I, for one, can get lost in You Tube world for up to 3 hours at a time. But most of us are pretty ethical and responsible and a little You-Tubing at work is not a bad thing. So employers, let down your guard and let your employees surf for a few minutes. And here’s why. Laughter gives us a little shot of endorphins, which is what we’re all looking for when we hit the candy machine at 3pm on workdays. I dare you to view this video and not LYAO.

And after you do so, you just might feel a little more productive.

And how do I know this to be true? All I have is some pretty strong, anecdotal evidence.

Exhibit A: Clint, our Creative Director

We don’t block sites here at Makin’ Hey! and Business Style, because of course, access to ridiculous information is part of life at a perennially hip design firm. But even we have our dull days. Today is one of them.

To stay awake, Clint has had his way with 2-liters of Mountain Dew, which worries me on so many levels. Besides having the nuclear green liquid sloshing around on his desk, I feel like he’s a ticking time bomb. What exactly does 2 liters of Mountain Dew do to a person? Apparently not much. Clint was still draggin’ until somehow, some way, Double Rainbow Remixed came up. I played it for him. And lo and behold, after a good, 10-minute, tear-inducing laugh, both Clint and I are back on track. Energized and ready to get through the next hour and a half. Must be those endorphins or adrenaline or whatever you want to call it.

For now, we’ll just label it…productive.

So let you employees surf a little, laugh a little and maybe you will just get a little more.

This entry was posted in General Musings, Management. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

