Brace yourselves. Startling revelation follows.

Gelato in Rome, Italy

If only chewing burned calories. I'd be so thin!

Did you know that you actually have to reduce your caloric intake to lose weight? I made this startling revelation last year when I put on a few (or 10) LBs after breaking my ankle. Although I’m by no means rail-thin, for most of my life I’ve enjoyed the luxury of being fairly fit and trim.

That’s why, after reading that 1,500-1,800 calories each day is the appropriate intake for a woman of my age/shape/size, I nearly died of shock when I realized my day looked a whole lot more like 3,500-5,000 calories. I’m not talking about a holiday or a date night at a nice restaurant, I’m talking about a normal f*cking day! No wonder the pounds and the inches were creeping up and out. Begrudgingly, I realized that I was going to have to work — and work hard — to cut down my calories and drop the weight. It wasn’t going to happen on its own.

So what the heck does this have to do with a business blog? I’ll tell you what. Building a marketing strategy and the subsequent implementation is work, either for you or the person(s) you hire. Although there are some exceptions to the rule, there really is no magic bullet that will propel your products or services into your customers’ consciousness.  On the contrary, increasing awareness and market share is the result of a steady, concerted effort to reach out and educate your customers about your business.

Recently I had a conversation with someone who wanted a marketing plan. When I suggested a few tactics, a mix of traditional and new media, she replied, “I just want word of mouth advertising.” Hmmm. I responded, “OK, you know, social media is kind of like word of mouth, and it’s a great way to communicate your message to a broader audience.” That didn’t fly. She responded, “No, that’s too much work and my customers aren’t using social media. I need to figure out a word-of-mouth strategy.”

Umm, word-of-mouth is not a strategy, it’s the happy consequence of a good product, good service and a lot of work. If you want your product to take off, I’m afraid you are going to have to work for it. Or hire someone who will.

Now, if I could just pay someone to lose the weight for me.

Weigh in on this, if you like.

This entry was posted in Drink and Debauchery, Food, General Musings, Marketing and Strategy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

