Don’t prescribe a pill you won’t or don’t take yourself.

Karen Hitchcock Creative Gun Consulting

If only someone would prescribe oreos.

As a marketing consultant, I’m in the position to prescribe a lot of stuff. “You should do this,” I say. Or, “you could do that.” When I utter these recommendations or “prescriptions” for success, I often follow up with, “but if you’re going to do it…really do it and do it well.” And what I mean by that is: Don’t half-ass it.

One of the marketing prescriptions is blogging. Some people say blogs are irrelevant. Others opine that blogging is essential for establishing credibility in your field of interest/expertise. Generally, I belong to the latter school of thought. Whether I recommend blogging or other tools which require weekly (and sometimes daily) monitoring, I encourage clients to do it consistently. People, a.k.a. your customers, have a short attention span. If you’re not front-and-center every day, you’ll have to scramble your way to the top…again and again.

Simply put, it’s a matter of traction. Once you have it, don’t let it slip.

Yet, here I am on May flippin’ 31st and my last blog post was April 19. Mon dieu!!!! What have I done?  I was picking up steam, making people laugh, blogging several times a week and gaining subscribers and interest. In the past six months, through my blog, I’ve connected with new friends, a couple new clients and even, a random blog surfer or two.

My prescription for myself  was working!

Prescription for Karen Hitchcock: Blog often and don’t hold back. You’ve got a different style and that may mean that not everyone will want to work with you, but that’s ok. There’s lots of work to go around. Don’t ever be stuffy or overly corporate. Be conversational and fun, but be ready to produce the knowledge to back up your sh*t.

Oh, I was doing so well. But like all prescriptions and medical management,when things are getting busy or going well, compliance is the challenge. For example, patients who are depressed and start meds often feel so good that they stop taking their meds.

  • Patient: Wow, this medicine’s really working. I feel great! I’m cured!
  • Patient’s brain: Hey buddy, things are starting to work well up here, how about another dose?
  • Patient: It’s great to get out of bed today. I’m going to get all my stuff done and burn my bathrobe. Maybe I don’t need Zoloft any more! <patient stops taking>
  • Patient’s brain: Hold the phone! You just greased the wheels and now throw a wrench in them. What gives?
  • Patient: I wonder why I’m feeling so down? I’d make a follow-up appointment, but I don’t even have the energy to go buy a new bathrobe.

OK, OK. This medical analogy is getting seriously old. Suffice it to say, it’s very easy to let your marketing efforts wane when you’re finding success from them or getting really busy.

But that’s exactly the time you should be ramping them up! Susan Thomson of Action Coach of Madison and her business partner Todd Kent recently reminded me of this in one of their very cool Growth Club meetings. If you want some advice on this, they are a great resource.

So here I am. Admitting that even prescribers fail to follow their own advice at times. But maybe that’s a good thing. Because remembering how hard it is be consistent means you can have a “been there, done that” perspective with your clients. I even think there’s a phrase about this – don’t doctors make the worst patients?

Did I get your attention?

This entry was posted in Marketing and Strategy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t prescribe a pill you won’t or don’t take yourself.

  1. Kate Wicker says:

    Glad to have you back!!!

  2. Amy Ackermann Peeler says:

    Well said! Sometimes we forget that it’s consistency in “maintenance mode” that allows us to be successful (or in the case of your analogy, healthy) without taking too many steps backward only to potentially reinvent the wheel time and time again.

  3. Aimee says:

    Well said.

  4. Glad to see you’re back, and THANK YOU for the shoutout!!! I’m working on ‘building good habits’ (aka blogging regularly) as well – I like ‘building good habits’ more than ‘being disciplined’ (ugh).

  5. Pingback: Why I love my work and a little shameless self-promo | Karen Hitchcock, Creative Gun Consulting

Leave a Reply

